A Walk in the Woods, oil on canvas

Oil on canvas, 457 x 610mm
Hi everyone, I hope you all had a great Easter. For me I spent most of the holidays on my new painting and I’m really delighted to show you my work.

The painting was inspired by my trip to Bruges, Belgium last year. I had a lovely walk in the woods of Begijnhof, and I loved the serenity when the sun shone through the leaves. The picture stayed on my mind and I had been wanting to re-create it on canvas. 

In the painting I hope to capture the light and the beautiful and vibrant colours of leaves. I’m not very familiar with using oil actually, though there’s some common knowledge that can be applied, for example  using the shadows on the ground to make a contrast to light. I enjoyed doing this painting so much and it brought back so much good memories, I hope you like it too. 

Begijnhof, Bruges

Leave a Reply

